2018 AFL club champion top 10s


In the season past 19 players won an AFL best and fairest award – there was a dead heat at Collingwood – and 182 finished in the top 10 in their club voting with a triple dead heat for 10th at GWS.

Taking into account there would be maybe 15 West Coast, Collingwood and Richmond players not listed here who had better seasons than many who finished in the top 10 at other clubs, what we have is a list of players who did pretty well in 2018.

Here’s a fairly unreliable statistical look at them.


  1. 47% were first round draft picks.
  2. 21% started or spent time on the rookie list.
  3. Four come from another club (Western Bulldogs {2}, Brisbane {1}, Sydney {1}).
  4. One has left his club. (Those making connections between my visit to Brisbane in July and the defection of Lachie Neale are being mischievous).

SECTION TWO: TOP 10s (182)

  1. 38% first round draft picks.
  2. 14% rookies
  3. 28% have been on another AFL list (Sam Menegola {Fremantle & Hawthorn} and Josh Caddy {Gold Coast & Geelong} have been on two).


It would surprise no one to learn GWS had the most first round draft picks in their top 10. Here’s the list in percentage terms to take account of GWS having 12 players in their top 10. GWS (75%); Melbourne (50%); Carlton, Collingwood, Richmond, West Coast (42%); Essendon, Hawthorn, Port Adelaide, Western Bulldogs (33%); Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, St Kilda (25%); Geelong, North Melbourne, Sydney (17%); Fremantle (8%).


Sydney had the most formerly rookie listed players in their top 10. Here’s the list: Sydney (4); Adelaide (3); Carlton, Collingwood, Gold Coast, Geelong, Melbourne, Richmond, West Coast (2); Essendon, Hawthorn, Port Adelaide, St Kilda, Western Bulldogs (1); Brisbane, Fremantle, GWS, North Melbourne (0).


Six former Hawthorn players finished in the top 10 at another club in 2018. There were none from North Melbourne or Richmond. Here’s the full list: Hawthorn (6); Adelaide, Collingwood, Western Bulldogs (5); Brisbane, GWS, St Kilda (4); Carlton, Essendon. Fremantle, Gold Coast, Sydney (3); Melbourne (2); Geelong, Port Adelaide, West Coast (1); North Melbourne and Richmond (0). Both clubs for Menegola and Caddy were included here.


Here’s the number of players previously on other AFL list who featured in the top 10 at each club: Adelaide (3); Brisbane (3); Carlton (5); Collingwood (2); Essendon (three); Fremantle (two); Gold Coast (five); Geelong (three); GWS (3); Hawthorn (four); Melbourne (two); North Melbourne (two); Port Adelaide (one); Richmond (one); St Kilda (three); Sydney (three); West Coast (four); Western Bulldogs (one).

By the way seven of West Coast’s premiership line-up had played for another club: Brisbane (2); St Kilda (2); Carlton (1); Geelong (1) and Sydney (1).


Five top 10 finishers will be at another club in 2019: two from Port Adelaide and one each from Brisbane, Fremantle and GWS.

What’s it all mean? I don’t know.

Any corrections welcome.

Adelaide Malcolm Blight Medal 

1. Rory Laird 

2. Matt Crouch 

3. Josh Jenkins   

4. Bryce Gibbs 

5. Hugh Greenwood 

6. Tom Doedee 

7. Luke Brown 

8. Wayne Milera Jr 

9. Rory Atkins 

10.Paul Seedsman 


Dayne Beams is one of five players who finished in the top 10 of their club champion award in 2018 and will be elsewhere in 2019. Photos by Les Everett.

Brisbane Merrett/Murray Medal

1. Dayne Zorko   

2. Dayne Beams   

3. Stef Martin   

4. Darcy Gardiner   

5. Harris Andrews   

6. Jarrod Berry   

7. Hugh McCluggage   

8. Luke Hodge   

9. Nick Robertson   

10.Alex Witherden   

Carlton John Nicholls Medal


1. Patrick Cripps

2. Kade Simpson

3. Ed Curnow, Charlie Curnow

5. Dale Thomas

6. Liam Jones

7. Zac Fisher

8. Sam Rowe

9. Matthew Wright

10.Marc Murphy

Collingwood Copeland Trophy


1. Steele Sidebottom, Brodie Grundy           

3. Scott Pendlebury          

4. Jack Crisp          

5. Taylor Adams          

6. Tom Phillips 

7. Jeremy Howe 

8. Jordan De Goey 

9. Josh Thomas 

10.Brayden Maynard 

Essendon Crichton Medal

1. Devon Smith 

2. Dyson Heppell 

3. Zach Merrett 

4. Adam Saad 

5. Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti 

6. Tom Bellchambers 

7. Michael Hurley 

8. Cale Hooker 

9. Conor McKenna 

10.Brendon Goddard 

Fremantle Doig Medal

1. Lachie Neale 

2. David Mundy 

3. Nat Fyfe 

4. Ed Langdon 

5. Luke Ryan 

6. Nathan Wilson 

7. Joel Hamling 

8. Michael Walters 

9. Stephen Hill 

10.Alex Pearce 

Geelong Carji Greeves Medal

 1. Mark Blicavs

2. Patrick Dangerfield, Tim Kelly

4. Tom Hawkins

5. Joel Selwood

6. Mitch Duncan

7. Tom Stewart

8. Jake Kolodjashnij

9. Sam Menegola

10.Zach Tuohy

Gold Coast Club Champion

1. Jarrod Harbrow

2. Touk Miller

3. Lachie Weller

4. Rory Thompson

5. Alex Sexton

6. David Swallow

7. Aaron Young

8. Jarrod Witts

9. Nick Holman

10.Jack Martin

Greater Western Sydney Kevin Sheedy Medal  

 1. Lachie Whitfield

2. Callan Ward

3. Phil Davis

4. Stephen Coniglio

5. Nick Haynes

6. Dylan Shiel

7. Adam Tomlinson

8. Tim Taranto

9. Josh Kelly

10.Jacob Hopper, Jeremy Cameron, Heath Shaw

Hawthorn Peter Crimmins Medal

 1. Tom Mitchell

2. Blake Hardwick

3. Isaac Smith

4. Jack Gunston

5. Jaeger O’Meara

6. Luke Breust

7. Ben Stratton

8. Ben McEvoy

9. Liam Shiels

10.James Sicily

Melbourne Bluey Truscott Medal

1. Max Gawn 

2. Clayton Oliver 

3. James Harmes 

4. Nathan Jones 

5. Tom McDonald 

6. Angus Brayshaw 

7. Jake Melksham 

8. Christian Salem 

9. Neville Jetta 

10.Jordan Lewis 

North Melbourne Syd Barker Medal

1. Shaun Higgins

2. Ben Cunnington

3. Robbie Tarrant

4. Ben Brown

5. Jack Ziebell

6. Trent Dumont

7. Todd Goldstein

8. Jed Anderson

9. Scott Thompson

10.Jamie MacMillan

Port Adelaide John Cahill Medal

1. Justin Westhoff

2. Tom Jonas

3. Ollie Wines

4. Robbie Gray

5. Jared Polec

6. Chad Wingard

7. Darcy Byrne-Jones

8. Dan Houston

9. Travis Boak

10.Tom Clurey

Richmond Jack Dyer Medal

1. Jack Riewoldt

2. Kane Lambert

3. Dustin Martin

4. Shane Edwards

5. Dylan Grimes

6. Alex Rance

7. Trent Cotchin

8. Nick Vlastuin

9. Jayden Short

10.Josh Caddy

St Kilda Trevor Barker Award

1. Jack Steven

2. Seb Ross

3. Jack Steele

4. Jade Gresham

5. Jarryn Geary

6. Jimmy Webster

7. Jake Carlisle

8. Tim Membrey

9. Jack Billings

10.Daniel McKenzie

Sydney Swans Bob Skilton Medal

1. Jake Lloyd   

2. Luke Parker   

3. Lance Franklin   

4. Isaac Heeney   

5. Josh Kennedy   

6. Dane Rampe   

7. George Hewett   

8. Jarrad McVeigh   

9. Callum Sinclair   

10.Harry Cunningham   

West Coast John Worsfold Medal

1. Elliot Yeo

2. Jack Redden

3. Shannon Hurn

4. Jamie Cripps

5. Andrew Gaff

6. Jeremy McGovern

7. Mark Hutchings

8. Brad Sheppard

9. Jack Darling

10.Willie Rioli

Western Bulldogs Charles Sutton Medal

1. Lachie Hunter   

2. Jack Macrae   

3. Marcus Bontempelli   

4. Aaron Naughton   

5. Josh Dunkley   

6. Caleb Daniel   

7. Jason Johannisen   

8. Hayden Crozier   

9. Toby McLean   

10.Bailey Williams   

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s