Falcons to face Lions again. Sandover to Demon

2015 Sandover Medal winner Aidan Tropiano (Perth). Photo by Les Everett

2015 Sandover Medal winner Aidan Tropiano (Perth). Photo by Les Everett

West Perth mastered a windy Arena Joondalup in the WAFL preliminary final to earn another crack at Subiaco.

East Perth looked good kicking with the breeze in the first quarter and led by 20 points at the first break in a game full of turnovers. By half time the Falcons were in front and when scores were level at three quarter time the writing was on the wind.

The star for the Falcons was full forward (if such position still exists) Michael Lourey who marked brilliantly, moved well and kicked six goals. Joe Morrow was very impressive in defence with his intercept marking a highlight, Marcus Adams was also good in the back line though how he escaped scrutiny for a brutal tackle on Brant Colledge escapes me, Nic Rodda was a useful big presence in the forward line while Aaron Black, Shane Nelson and Steven Browne again did their bit in the midfield.

Mitchell Fraser and Garry Moss battled hard in the East Perth defence, Paul Johnson did well in the ruck and Corey Adamson did some good things.

Subiaco and West Perth were clearly the top two teams in 2015 and it’s fitting they’ll meet in the grand final.

Meanwhile two of the main fancies for the Sandover Medal appeared to be somewhat fanciful prospects. Aidan Tropiano’s team Perth won just two games for the season while Subiaco’s Sam Menegola played his first game for the year in round 11 so played just 12 games.

Tropiano polled four votes in the final round to pip Ashton Hams of South Fremantle by a vote and Menegola finished third. Despite Perth’s dismal season Tropiano maintained remarkable consistency and polled in 15 games.

Both Tropiano and Menegola are strong ball winning midfielders and former East Fremantle players.

The leader board…

Aidan Tropiano (Perth) – 45 votes

Ashton Hams (South Fremantle) – 44

Sam Menegola (Subiaco) – 41

Ryan Davis (Swan Districts) – 37

Aaron Black (West Perth) – 37*

Chris Phelan (Subiaco) – 35

Paul Johnson (East Perth) – 33

Matt Riggio (Swan Districts) – 32

Liam Anthony (East Fremantle) – 31

Ryan Neates (Claremont) – 30

* Last year’s winner Aaron Black was ineligible.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s